INFO 526: Data Analysis & Visualization

Dr. Greg Chism

This page contains an outline of the topics, content, and assignments for the semester. Note that this schedule will be updated as the semester progresses and the timeline of topics and assignments might be updated throughout the semester.

Week Date Topic Prepare Due
1 Wed, Jan 10 Lec 0
2 Mon, Jan 15 No class

MLK Jr Holiday

Wed, Jan 17 Lec 1
3 Mon, Jan 22 Lec 2
Wed, Jan 24 Lec 3

πŸ“š R4DS - Chp 6

Fri, Jan 26

βœ… RQ 1

4 Mon, Jan 29 Lec 4

πŸ“š R4DS - Chp 19

πŸ“ HW 1

Wed, Jan 31 Lec 5
5 Mon, Feb 5 Lec 6

βœ… RQ 2

Wed, Feb 7 Peer review

πŸ“‘ Project 1 proposals for peer review

6 Mon, Feb 12 Lec 7

πŸ“š R4DS - Chp 20

πŸ“‘ Project 1 proposals for instructor review

Wed, Feb 14 Lec 8

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 13

πŸ“ HW 2

7 Mon, Feb 19 Lec 9

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 14

βœ… RQ 3

Wed, Feb 21 Lec 10

πŸŽ₯ Reporting and visualising the pandemic by John Burn-Murdoch
πŸŽ₯ Always look on the bright side of plots by Kara Woo

8 Mon, Feb 26 Lec 11

Presentation ready plots

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 29

Wed, Feb 28 Lec 12

Data visualization accessibility

9 Mon, Mar 4 No class

Spring Break β˜€οΈ

Wed, Mar 6 No class

Spring Break β˜€οΈ

10 Mon, Mar 11 Midterm

Project 1 presentations

πŸ“‘ Project 1

Wed, Mar 13 Lec 13

Visualizing Uncertainty

πŸ“ HW 3

11 Mon, Mar 18 Lec 14

Du Bois visualizations

Wed, Mar 20 Lec 15

Visualizing Likert data

Fri, Mar 22

βœ… RQ 4

12 Mon, Mar 25 Lec 16

Visualizing geospatial data I

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 15

Wed, Mar 27 Lec 17

Visualizing geospatial data II

πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 1 + πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 2 +
πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 3 + πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 4 +
πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 5

πŸ“ HW 4

13 Mon, Apr 1 Peer Review

Project 2 proposal peer review

πŸ“‘ Project 2 proposals for peer review

Wed, Apr 3 Lec 18

Visualizing geospatial data III

Fri, Apr 5

πŸ“‘ Project 2 proposals for instructor review

14 Mon, Apr 8 Lec 19

Tables

βœ… RQ 5
πŸ“ HW 5

Wed, Apr 10 Lec 20

Visualizing Networks Lecturer: Laura Dozal

15 Mon, Apr 15 Lec 21

Animation

Wed, Apr 17 Lec 22

Interactive visualizations + reporting with Shiny I

πŸ“š ms - Chp 1
πŸ“š ms - Chp 2

16 Mon, Apr 22 Lec 23

Interactive visualizations + reporting with Shiny II

πŸ“š ms - Chp 3
πŸ“š ms - Chp 7

Wed, Apr 24 Lec 24

Dashboards I

βœ… RQ 6

17 Mon, Apr 29 Lec 25

Dashboards II

πŸ“ HW 6

Wed, May 1 Lec 26

Generative art

Finals Mon, May 6 Final

Project 2 presentations @ 10:30am

πŸ“‘ Project 2